Day 17: Ode To The Shins

6 Jun

Hello there! If this is your first time on the website, be sure to check out the about page in the top righthand corner for more info on my 365 day project!

Today is the day before my last final. So I am stressed out of my mind. But in the midst of all this hot air and worry, I always have my one love to fall back on. And that one love is the Shins.

So, today, I’m gonna do things a little differently: instead of bringing you a website or something, i’m just gonna write a bit about why the Shins really help me out.

The video above is from the movie Garden State (2004), starring Zach Braff and Natalie Portman.

Back in early 2004 (and I mean EARLY), my family moved from the little city of Visalia, CA to the even littler city Sammamish, WA. 2 states away from my whole life.

For the first few months of living in Washington, I had a really difficult time fitting in. I had it rough in California when I was little, but this time I didn’t have friends to fall back on like I did. While I had no trouble making friends to hang with while I was at school, I was feeling the pressure of living somewhere I had only been to once in my whole life. I was scared, sad, and unsure about what to do.

Once I saw the preview for Garden State, I knew I was going to see it. So, while I stayed at a summer camp for 2 weeks, I dreamed about Zach Braff and the movie’s bizarre plotline (yeah, I was a movie nerd back then too). When I got home, my mom presented me with the soundtrack, and that was the first time I had ever heard the Shins.

Of course New Slang was my favorite song on the whole soundtrack, and I quickly began to develop and obsession with the band who sang it: who are they and where can I get more of their songs?!

When the movie finally came out, and I went and saw it, I remember watching this scene and thinking that I might take a lesson from it.

And sure enough, 6 years later, I can confirm this: The Shins have changed my life.

After the rubble rested from my obsession with the movie, I finally got around to checking out a full Shins CD. My dad made me a copy of Chutes Too Narrow and I worshipped it until the CD broke. Literally. Every song, every verse, every guitar riff made me feel at home. It made me feel okay. For the first time since I moved to Washington, I felt happy.

6 years, 1 more CD, five concerts, and 1 account of meeting the members later, I am still here, listening to Chutes Too Narrow as I stress out. But even now, 6 years after listening to it the first time, I still feel the same way. Safe. Secure. Home.

The Shins is my home away from home away from home. And I need them to survive.

Thank you, The Shins, for making me feel this way. Without you, I don’t know who I’d be in this world.

One Response to “Day 17: Ode To The Shins”

  1. Janna M June 6, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    Your post made me cry. I remember wanting to see the movie too and not being sure if it was appropriate for you. But I am soooo glad I took you. The music spoke to you, and you are better because of it.

Leave a Reply

