Day 37: Samurai Jack

26 Jun

Hi there! If this is your first time on the site, be sure to check out the about page (located underneath the giant title) for more info on my project!

Today is the last day of CARTOON NETWORK WEEK! I hope you enjoyed it! Tomorrow I’ll get back to the regular stuff! Leave me a comment below and let me know what you thought of this week’s theme, or what theme you want to see done (or even if you want me to do themes in the future).

To finish this week, I wanted to show you one of the coolest looking animations ever called Samurai Jack.

On Cartoon Network starting in 2001, Samurai Jack is about, well, a samurai prince named Jack, who is trying to defeat an evil being named Aku. He ends up time traveling to the future, due to Aku’s intense power, but fights to defeat this shadowy-figure…. but the coolest part about the show was the fact that it was animated with traditional artwork from Japan. It is gorgeous, imaginative, and really neat.

Honestly, I can’t say too much about this show because I didn’t watch this show, but I think it is incredible and I am sad to see it off air.

Check out the opening down below

Sadly enough, the show’s many awards couldn’t save it, but it lives on in memory of greatness, and is also going to be a movie (produced by Star Trek and Cloverfield director J.J. Abrams).

GO SAMURAI JACK!

(click the picture to play my favorite SJ game!)

2 Responses to “Day 37: Samurai Jack”

  1. Matt V June 27, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    I watched this show as a kid and loved its mythological, cultural and cinematic allusions so much that I Netflix’d it last year and re-watched all of it and loved it all the more. You have good taste. Hope that movie happens.

  2. margasaur June 27, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    they have it on netflix?! I have to check it out!!

Leave a Reply

