Day 73: Bacon Pancakes with Lingonberries

1 Aug

Hello there! If this is your first time on the site, be sure to check out the about page at the top for more info on my project! Also, sign the guestbook (also located in the top)!

Yes, everyone, your dreams are coming true. Bacon pancakes. With lingonberries. This godly treat is as good as it sounds.

So how did this monstrosity even make it into my mind? Well I’ll tell you.

Remember the other day I said I read The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo? Well on page 303 (of the paperback version), there is a small passage that said this:

“Anna produced a great quantity of bacon pancakes with lingonberries. They sat there in the dining room and talked for almost two hours. Blomkvist told him about how far he had got with the family chronicle, and where there were holes and gaps. They did not talk at all about Harriet, but Vanger told him all about Millennium.”

After a four hour reading streak, I stopped dead in my tracks to read that sentence again. “…bacon pancakes with lingonberries…”

Now those of you who haven’t had the joy of eating lingonberries, I’m so sorry! I normally eat them whenever I stop by my local IKEA. Basically, this Swedish fruit is much like cranberries. They are small, beady looking berries that are both sweet and sour. They are normally served with swedish meatballs, gravy and potatoes (much like cranberries during Thanksgiving). By golly are they freaking good!

So after reading that sentence, I knew that I needed it. I needed it now.

After a extremely necessary trip to the lovely IKEA in Seattle, I walked out with a giant tub of Lingonberries. And by giant tub, I mean giant tub:

I got my pancake mix, and my bacon, and I was ready to rock and roll.

So is your mouth watering yet? Yes? Well, my lovely readers, I am gonna make you super happy tonight. I bring you, the recipe for BACON PANCAKES WITH LINGONBERRIEEEEEES!

Bacon Pancakes with Lingonberries

Cook Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

5 slices uncooked bacon (if you really LOVE bacon, feel free to add more!)

2 cups Pancake mix (doesn’t matter what brand)

Spoonful of Lingonberries (if you are not a fan of sour fruit, you can use a teaspoon. On the other hand, if you freaking love lingonberries, don’t be stingy!)

Optional: butter (just for taste on the pancake)

Instructions:

1. Cook the bacon. If you like to fry bacon, go right ahead, but if you want an alternative to frying, here’s a helpful way to make it. Line a baking pan with foil and place the bacon on top. Put them in a cold oven and turn the heat to 400 degrees. Let them cook for about 15 minutes (or until brown). Take them out of the oven and voila! Yummy bacon cooked to near perfection!

2. While the bacon is cooking, prepare the pancake batter, according to the directions on the package. The batter should be a creamy mixture when it’s ready.

3. Cut the cooked bacon into tiny bits and pour them into the pancake batter. Mix it around and make sure it’s evenly spread into the batter.

4. Put a skillet on the stove and turn up the heat to a high medium temperature (my stove goes up to 9 for the high temp, so I set mine at around 7). Using a ladle, spoon a small amount of the batter on the skillet. When the top gets super bubbly, carefully flip the pancake over, making sure it doesn’t get everywhere. After about 30 seconds to a minute, you can move the pancake to a plate for enjoyment!

5. After putting some butter on the pancake (which is optional), spoon the lingonberries on top.

6. Enjoy these godly creatures!!!

If you make this, tell me what you think!!!

2 Responses to “Day 73: Bacon Pancakes with Lingonberries”

  1. slamdunk August 1, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

    Sounds wonderful.

    • margasaur August 1, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

      oh man, it is! I suggest making it. immediately XD

Leave a Reply

