Day 78: IKEEEEEEAAAAAAAAA

6 Aug

IKEA Sweden

Hello there! If this is your first time on the site, be sure to check out the about page at the top for more info on my project! Also, sign the guestbook (also located in the top)!

So today I want to write about something I love so desperately. IKEA.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with the god that is IKEA, it is basically a Swedish department store that sells furniture and household items. They are notorious for their modern furniture and their poor quality stuff, but I feel like a kid in a candy store everytime I walk into the IKEA department store.

Now, I’ve written a free-form poem about my love for IKEA.

living room

Ode To IKEAAAAAAA

Malm bedframes
Ektorp sofas
Billy bookshelves
Swedish meatballs with lingonberries and potatoes.
It’s a dream, IKEA,
A dream to walk through your doors.
To feel the warmth and comfort of your atmosphere.
To know there are shortcuts, but never need them.
To get lost within the world of not-so-expensive furniture.
Even though I can’t pronounce the names of anything
(and I try so desperately hard)
I feel at home in my Swedish paradise.
So I’ll pick up some gooseberry jam
and buy my poang chair
and sift through the as-is
and just know
the big glowing blue and yellow sign will always be there
to welcome me back
to my home away from home.

(click the pics for ikea.com!)

One Response to “Day 78: IKEEEEEEAAAAAAAAA”

  1. Janna m August 7, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    Best poem ever! Love the “shortcuts” line! Lolz

Leave a Reply

