Day 93: O Brother, Where Art Thou?

21 Aug

Hello there! If this is your first time on the site, be sure to check out the about page at the top for more info on my project! Also, sign the guestbook (also located in the top)!

The Coen Brothers are geniuses. They are the creative force behind so many brilliant films, and are responsible for one of my all time favorite movies: O Brother, Where Art Thou? (2000).

The movie is loosely based on the Odyssey, but it follows the journey of three jailbirds in the 1930s as they search for a great treasure. Delmar, Pete, and Everett are chain-gang members who break out and travel through the countryside of great-depression hit Mississippi, encountering troubles with police, evil governors, the Ku Klux Klan, and even Babyface Nelson. What they find is not necessarily treasure, but what the true meaning of home is.

It’s an epic period piece, and it is gorgeously shot and colored (really giving that feel of the 30s). The cast is unbelievably amazing, and the music is to die for. Honestly, I’ve never seemed to find anything I didn’t like about this movie. It’s just… I guess I’m lost for words when it comes to this movie.

So if you’ve never seen it, I HIGHLY recommend it.

Here’s my favorite scene in the whole movie:

(p.s. the song in this scene is called “Hard Time Killing Floor Blues” by Chris Thomas King. If you want to hear it for reals, click here. it is incredible)

3 Responses to “Day 93: O Brother, Where Art Thou?”

  1. Noah August 22, 2010 at 12:01 am #

    Cows…i hate cows….
    Great movie. Nice post!

  2. margasaur August 22, 2010 at 12:28 am #

    thanks! this movie blows me away every time I see it.

  3. Janna August 22, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    The first time I saw that movie in the theatre, I
    Went right back in and saw it again! Love it!

Leave a Reply

