Day 95: A Single Man

23 Aug

Hello there! If this is your first time on the site, be sure to check out the about page at the top for more info on my project! Also, sign the guestbook (also located in the top)!

Tonight I watched one of my favorite movies of the year, A Single Man starring Colin Firth. While he was nominated for Best Actor at the Academy Awards for this role, he didn’t win and I am disappointed in this.

Anyways, this movie is gorgeous. The story takes place in a day in the life of Dr. George Falconer, an aging gay British man in the 1960s. 8 months previous, his lover (played by Mathew Goode) died in a car crash, and he is still recovering from the incident. The whole movie goes through his day as he tries to decide whether or not he should kill himself. Instead, he begins to realize that the little things in life come not so often, but they are worth living for.

I don’t want to say much about this film, mainly because I feel like everyone needs to see it, but I will give you the trailer and a quote from it that makes me fall in love every time I see it.

“A few times in my life I’ve had moments of absolute clarity, when for a few brief seconds the silence drowns out the noise and I can feel rather than think, and things seem so sharp and the world seems so fresh. I can never make these moments last. I cling to them, but like everything, they fade. I have lived my life on these moments. They pull me back to the present, and I realize that everything is exactly the way it was meant to be.”

As an added bonus, here are two songs from the soundtrack that I feel like I can melt to. It makes me almost cry hearing them. (for the first one make sure you listen from 0:51 on… it’s my favorite part)

2 Responses to “Day 95: A Single Man”

  1. Tyler August 23, 2010 at 11:57 pm #

    that’s so weird you decided to post this tonight cause i was just thinking that i was going to go buy it tomorrow cause i REALLY want to watch it.

  2. margasaur August 24, 2010 at 12:15 am #

    I watched it tonight and it just hit me again… all the emotion, all the complexity, all the simplicity… I love this movie so much

Leave a Reply

