Day 123: The World Of Jenks

21 Sep

Click Here To Check Out "The World Of Jenks"

Hey guys, if this is your first time on the site, be sure to check out the about page at the top for more info on my project! Also, sign the guestbook (also located in the top)!

I’ve had a pretty long day of being out and about… drinking coffee and buying vinyls. But when I got home this evening with my roomates and sat down for a little TV time, we turned on a show called “World Of Jenks” and fell madly in love.

Here’s the premise of the show: Andrew Jenks is a documentary filmmaker (a cute one at that) who decides to immerse himself into a different person’s life for a week. Each episode consists of him becoming friends with each of the people he features and takes a look into each of their lives. The first episode was a rap-star, the second was a man with autism, and the third was a woman living on the streets of San Francisco.

It’s shocking, but it is also incredible.

But the best part of the show is that Jenks really cares about these people. He gave the woman living on the street a cell phone because he was worried about her safety and he gave her a big, caring hug.

By doing these simple things, learning about these people, he is changing their lives and opening the world’s eyes to different types of people.

Even Jenks is surprised with his own project:

“On day one of filming, I always have an idea of what the story is for each character. I have an idea of what is at stake. But I always leave with a different perspective and thus a story that I never saw coming.”

I completely respect everything about this show, and even found myself in tears watching him help these people.

I highly recommend the show (on MTV, monday at 10 pm), and I hope that it opens your eyes to the world around you.

Check out an episode down here:

http://media.mtvnservices.com/mgid:uma:videolist:mtv.com:1648250

Leave a Reply

