Day 137: The Exploding Girl

5 Oct

Hey guys, if this is your first time on the site, be sure to check out the about page at the top for more info on my project! Also, sign the guestbook (also located in the top)!

Before I get into the post, I just wanted to say HOORAY! EARLY POST! That’s right.

Now that that’s over with, I have a few quick announcements before I get this blogpost on the road.

First, I’m still looking for collaborators. Really, all I’m looking for is some people who like to look for optimistic things in the world and want to talk about it. I’m still going to do the daily project, mainly as a goal for myself, but it would be nice for others to spread their view of the world as well.

Second, I am always looking for suggestions for the blog! If you see something neat (but don’t want to be a regular collaborator), email me at lawdki@gmail.com and I will do a guest blog!

Third, if you have a cool website or blog that I can put on my blog roll, let me know! I love looking at blogs and sites, and hopefully some of you will too! Let me know or send me a link through the blog or through email!

Okay, on with the blogpost!

Today, I want to feature not a movie but a trailer for the movie called The Exploding Girl (2009).

When I first saw the preview for this in the Spring, I wanted to see it so badly. Of course, I completely missed it when it came to town, but it’s been living in the back of my mind since then.

Thankfully it’s streaming on Netflix instant watch, but the trailer got me thinking…

Now this movie has INSANELY mixed reviews. Critics love it because it’s a really deep character study of this college girl with epilepsy, and audiences hate it because they say it’s way too boring. I’m the type that’ll sit through a boring movie because I want to, so I’m going to watch it.

Really, though, the preview just grabs me in a way I cannot understand. The music (Which is called “hvernig á að særa vini sína” by the band formerly known as Andhéri … also, this song is absolutely NO WHERE to be found), the acting, the ambience… it all looks really emotional and good.

I’m planning on watching it tonight, so I’ll let you know my thoughts on it tomorrow with my other blog Eye Candy (sorry it looks terrible right now… I’m in the process of “pimping it out”).

Anyways, here’s the preview for The Exploding Girl. Tell me what you think of it in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

