Day 153: [THEME WEEK!!] Sufjan Stevens (and his magical powers) “The Lakes Of Canada”

14 Nov

Hello there!

So, as I promised the last two days, I am starting a THEME WEEK!

What is this theme week about? Well, let me explain.

The last few weeks (aka month) have been very difficult. Due to school/family/computer/and health problems, I’ve been more than a little under the weather in health and spirit. While my friends have been there for me (and I appreciate all the love and help I’ve been receiving from them), I’ve still been down in the dumps.

But what has gotten me through to a week of stress-free thinking is the wonderful man with a banjo: Sufjan Stevens.

Fig. 1.1: Sufjan Stevens and his banjo.

With the release of his newest masterpiece “The Age Of Adz” (which is incredible… check it out if you can!), my interest in Sufjan spiked for the first time. Yes, I had heard him in the past, but it was more of that “second-glance-not-really-listening-but-saying-you-like-them” type of situations (In fact, in my mind, he was just a really cute guy who played banjo… see fig. 1.1). So I felt like a jackal when I picked up a copy of his “Illinois” album (more on that later in the week) and fell in love hard core.

Today’s song by him is incredible. It’s a cover of an already beautiful song, but somehow he has captured it in a way that I didn’t think was humanly possible. Just him and a banjo on a rooftop, singing to no one and everyone all at the same time.

Enjoy “The Lakes of Canada”, a cover by Sufjan Stevens.

5 Responses to “Day 153: [THEME WEEK!!] Sufjan Stevens (and his magical powers) “The Lakes Of Canada””

  1. Austin November 14, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

    Great post! I love Sufjan. He’s helped me through many a tough time! It’s nice to be reminded of his incredible music.

    • margasaur November 15, 2010 at 12:06 am #

      I know! I feel like such a dummy for ignoring him for so long. I can’t even believe myself.

      But his music is just so, fueling I guess would be the word to use. I feel better just listening to him sing.

  2. Janna November 15, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    My God that was beautiful! Reminds me of Jason Lytle at Easy Street. Beautiful and a little sad. Love it!

    • margasaur November 15, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

      I can’t get over how much I love this song. It’s so simple and beautiful all at the same time.

    • margasaur November 15, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

      **Random note, he has a song called “The Palm Sunday Tornado Hits Crystal Lake” and it reminded me of “Crystal Lake”

Leave a Reply

