Day 156: [THEME WEEK] Casmir Pulaski Day by Sufjan Stevens

17 Nov

Hello today!

Once again, I present SUFJAN STEVENS THEME WEEEEEEK!

Sufjan under the stars

Today has been an odd one… It’s been full of good and bad, smiles and tears. So I’ve been honestly confused about my feelings all day long.

So when I tried to decide what song to pick for today’s post, I didn’t have any trouble picking “Casmir Pulaski Day”.

This song sort of reflects good and bad all in one. The music is simple: for the first part, a guitar lightly accompanies Sufjan’s voice. It’s beautiful and whimsical, but there is a little strange twist.

While it’s music is mesmerizing, the subject is quite sad: from what I can tell, the song is about one of Sufjan’s old loves, who dies of bone cancer.

So why do I pick this song for the blog? Because it is incredible. Even though it’s soft and sad, it is one of the strongest songs on the album. It’s gorgeous and it’s just…. like I can’t describe how wonderful it is.

The other night I had a perfect moment… I was walking through campus in the dark, with this song on, and it was like time stood still. The smell of the pine trees, the taste of my eggnog latte still lingering, the clouds overlapping in the navy light, the moon shining as bright as it could. It was incredible. I couldn’t even believe it.

When I hear this song, just the most wonderful thoughts come into my head. It’s like being in love.

So enjoy “Casmir Pulaski Day” by Sufjan Stevens, and hopefully you’ll feel the same way as me. (leave me a comment and let me know what you think)

*EDIT: better link for the song!

Leave a Reply

