Day 157: [THEME WEEK] The Dress Looks Nice On You by Sufjan Stevens (+Bad Communication)

18 Nov

Hello hello!

Once again, I present SUFJAN STEVENS THEME WEEEEEEK!

Sufjan.

I was having trouble trying to decide between three different songs today, so I’ve decided to post two that I really love.

The first is “The Dress Looks Nice On You” off of Sufjan’s 4th album Seven Swans, which is gloriously low-key and beautiful. The song shows a strangely more risque side of the singer, who in one part of the song  says “I can see you better naked, too”… I’m not too sure why he decided to take this turn, considering how this CD plays off of many Bible-themes, but I don’t question it.

The lyrics are soft and the melody is playfully melancholy (especially the banjo part, which is my personal favorite).

I really can’t describe it… it’s strangely appealing.

 

Also, as a bonus, I wanted to throw on another song off of his newest CD Age of Adz… the song is “Bad Communication”, and it is very powerful. You can feel the emotion in his voice, and it makes for a strange listening experience. I love this song and it’s morose sound!

Leave a Reply

