Day 158: [THEME WEEK] The Perpetual Self, or What Would Saul Alinsky Do? by Sufjan Stevens

19 Nov

Hello again!

Once again, I present SUFJAN STEVENS THEME WEEEEEEK!

Circa 1960s.

Today’s song is one that some of you may have actually heard before. You see, it was in a preview for a movie that came out earlier this year (aka Babies).

“The Perpetual Self, or ‘What Would Saul Alinsky Do?’ by Sufjan Stevens is one of the best songs out there. It’s adorable and uplifting, moving you through the song like you’re on a cloud.

Also, embarrassing fact about myself, even though I never knew the song was by him (and I loved the song), I am still unable to watch the preview for that movie without tearing up. Call me crazy, but those babies! They’re just so cute!

ANYWAY, this song sets itself apart from most of his music… yeah, sure, he does sing very uplifting songs (like tomorrow’s conclusion), but it’s just so HAPPY. Like I feel like I can take anything with that song on.

The guitars are a little harder than he’s used to, and come to think of it, the song is still uplifting and “harder” than he normally uses. But it works with his soft vocals, and you can feel the warmth this song is emanating.

I hope you enjoy this song, because it pretty much brightens up any day! Here’s “The Perpetual Self, or ‘What Would Saul Alinsky Do?'” by Sufjan Stevens (off of his CD The Avalanche)

Oh, and if you’re not lame like me, watch the preview for that movie right here. It is seriously too adorable for my eyes.

 

Leave a Reply

