Day 187: Pulling Our Weight by The Radio Dept.

18 Dec

Hey guys (again).

I wanted to feature one of my all time favorite songs, but first a mini story behind it.

Back when I was still in high school, I used to volunteer at this improv theater in downtown Seattle (Jet City Improv… check it out! SO MUCH FUN). Anyway, it was some of the best years of my life with all of the actors and other volunteers, especially in the winter time.

Every single night for about a month, the person working the technical booth would throw on a burned CD for music in between each act. For the winter months, it was one CD that had a bunch of assorted songs of every genre. But there was always one song that made me fall in love whenever it came on the speakers, and I had no idea what it was called or who it was by.

Every weekend for almost 2 months I would sit there, hear that song, and just feel so in tune with the world around me. It became the theme song to the best months of my life, and it always stuck in my head.

Eventually, I couldn’t take it and the tech person made me a copy of the CD. Once I had a copy, I finally figured out that the song was called “Pulling Our Weight” by the Radio Dept. It’s gorgeous and simple, almost sounding like it waltzed out of the lo-fi 80s.

So while this song may not mean anything to many people, it defined my happiness for those winter months. It is music at its finest, and I love it so.

I hope you enjoy “Pulling Our Weight” by The Radio Dept.! (also, watch the music video… it’s really neat!)

Leave a Reply

