Day 224: Song I’m digging at the moment: The Opposite Of Adults by Chiddy Bang (feat. MGMT

24 Jan

Hey guys!

I want to feature a song that is kind of an odd one for me to put on here.

Rap group Chiddy Bang has kind of come out of nowhere and is starting to make an impact on the music scene. For me, I’m not normally in-tune with the rap scene, mainly because I come from an alt-rock/folk background (if you couldn’t already tell). But the reason I find myself fascinated by these guys is their remixes of bands that I love.

One example is their song “All Things Go”, which is a rap track over a sped up version of Sufjan Steven’s “Chicago” (which is my favorite song of his… click the link to check out the blogpost). While it’s a little odd and strangely uncomfortable to hear a chipmunk-version of Sufjan crooning this gorgeous song, it’s a pretty badass version of the song!

But the one I want to feature today has been stuck in my head for weeks (in a very, very good way). “The Opposite Of Adults” by Chiddy Bang (feat. MGMT) is a remix of alt-electronic band MGMT’s song “Kids” (I’ll include a copy of this song right underneath the Chiddy Bang version). “Kids” was kind of the summer-anthem of 2008, and everyone picked it up and made it into a huge hit. I love the song, myself.

But then came Chiddy Bang, who took the basic tune and added their own flavor to it – instant hit! “The Opposite Of Adults” is actually featured on the commercials for the new “Need For Speed” game, and it’s kind of blown up since then. It’s insanely popular and totally great!

I personally love how they took this song and instead of featuring the lyrics or song itself, they took a piece and made it their own song (of course giving cred to the original band). The rhymes are awesome too, different from the “bitches and hoes” of other common rap favorites.

Anyways, enjoy “The Opposite Of Adults” by Chiddy Bang (Feat. MGMT)

Here’s the original song: “Kids” by MGMT

4 Responses to “Day 224: Song I’m digging at the moment: The Opposite Of Adults by Chiddy Bang (feat. MGMT”

  1. musingsofamusiclover January 24, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    I have recently become obsessed with MGMT, particularly the song “Kids.” Even though I’m not a rap fan either, I agree that the way they used the original song is interesting, and the lyrics, while not MGMT’s, are meaningful and memorable.

    • margasaur January 25, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

      I agree with you… it’s nice to see rap artists breaking away from the norm and introducing people to these great bands (and vice versa)! Thanks to Chiddy Bang, a good friend of mine started listening to Sufjan, which is always a good thing.

      On a random note, i checked out your blog and I really like it! I’ll link it to my blogroll (nice work with the cage the elephant stuff. I haven’t listened to the new CD yet, but I’ve heard it’s incredible!)

      • musingsofamusiclover January 26, 2011 at 8:31 am #

        Definitely! I love it when different genres come together unexpectedly.

        And thanks so much! I really appreciate it. I love yours too, and yes, the CD is incredible!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 261: Hey London by Chiddy Bang « Life As We Don't Know It - March 2, 2011

    […] is my JAM for today! As you probably already know, I’m a pretty big fan of Chiddy Bang (from this post)… I feel like they are one of the more fun hip hop groups that have come out of the past […]

Leave a Reply

