Day 234: Birds by The Submarines

3 Feb

Hey everyone!

So the beginning of the year is always awesome because there’s new music a plenty. So far I’ve featured Ducktails, Fleet Foxes, Daley, Peter Bjorn & John (x2), and the Decemberists!

Well more good news!

An indie band that most people would probably recognize from their iPod ads just dropped a new single today off their new CD. The Submarines are a relationship-band (much like Matt & Kim or Mates of State) in which John Dragonetti and Blake Hazard have been on and off dating in their career of making music. This makes their music intriguing: all of their relationship songs are somewhat about each other… so it’s easier to grasp what the band sounds like.

I’ve been a fan of the band since I heard their song “Xavia” in the indie romantic comedy Nick And Norah’s Infinite Playlist (2008). It’s a little electronic and wee bit psychadelic, but completely infectious. Ever since then, I’ve been rocking their hits here and there on my way to class or waiting for the bus.

Their new song “Birds” is surprisingly more upbeat than their other music that I’ve heard… so I was a lot happier listening to it! It features an on-key vocal track provided by Hazard and some cute chillin’ beats in the background, definitely something I can get used to (here’s to hoping their newest CD sounds like this all the way through)!

Anyway, enough rambling from me… enjoy “Birds” by The Submarines… and click here to download a free copy of this mp3 (courtesy of Spin Magazine)!

2 Responses to “Day 234: Birds by The Submarines”

  1. perilous records February 8, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    just watched a buncha live versions of my fav song pb&j the chills. wait..i can’t believe the acronym is pb&j. i’ma check out this birds video as soon as my coworker turns his damn streaming radio off. trying to be courteous… anyways thanks

    • margasaur February 15, 2011 at 10:53 am #

      the chills is like my favorite song! it’s so creepy but I love it so much

Leave a Reply

