Day 258: Catfish (2010)

28 Feb

Hey everyone!

Today is the big day: THE ACADEMY AWARDS!! Every year I sit and watch the big award show and leave somewhat disappointed… but regardless it’s awesome to see what’s going on in the minds of old people deciding these winners!

Anyways, in honor of the award show, I want to feature a movie that didn’t get nominated!

Last night I watched the  documentary Catfish (2010)  and I walked out of it completely shocked. It was incredible!

The premise of the movie is as follows: Yaniv Schulman is a photographer, and one day he is contacted by a six-year-old girl who painted a beautiful version of one of his photos. He begins to become friends with this girl and her family, ending up in almost a long-distance relationship with the young girl’s sister. As new developments turn up (his new passion to talk to Megan, the sister), the documentary changes meaning.

But when things begin to seem a little off, the filmmakers begin to dig deep in the meaning of YouTube, Facebook, Google Maps, and texting to find the real truth about this family.

It’s not scary (like the preview tries to portray), in fact it’s actually really fascinating. But what made it so intriguing was the charm and tense feeling you get when watching it. I found myself both creeped out and completely enthralled. It’s amazing.

I warn you, though, it is really intense… the ending is slightly expected, but also really incredible.

Here’s the preview…. if you’re interested, be sure to check it out! I want everyone to see it.

2 Responses to “Day 258: Catfish (2010)”

  1. CMrok93 March 5, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    The film begs lots of questions about how, and when, it became clear any of this was worth documenting, but it certainly was. I still don’t know whether this was real or not, but despite that all, I was still interested while watching this. Good review, check out mine when you can!

    • margasaur March 6, 2011 at 2:54 am #

      thanks!

      I was actually much happier with the idea that they didn’t want to hurt this family, no matter how creepy the situation turned out. I honestly don’t know if it’s real or fake, but I’m not sure I want to know!

      I really like your review and I totally agree! This movie really encompasses the lifestyle of the media-literate 21st century. From the Google Maps descriptions and the Facebook shots, I thought the filmmakers showed how dependent the world has become on the social media. Great film and great review, regardless of whether Catfish is real or not!

Leave a Reply

