Day 259: [BELATED] So Easy by Goonie J (+Popular)

1 Mar

Hey guys!

I wanted to feature this artist so bad it’s ridiculous, but before I say anything just be forwarned that there is some language in these songs so if you’re not into bustin’ some mad rhymes, be sure not to listen to this.

ANYWAY, Goonie J added me on twitter the other day, and after a weird conversation regarding mistaken gender, mixtapes and illegal substances, I got him to link me to some of his music. Needless to say, I kind sort of love it in a way I can’t understand.

Don’t get me wrong, this 19-year-old is not selling out ampitheaters or playin’ alongside Kanye West or anything like that, but his ties to the streets of Chicago make his music super appealing. I actually like how realistic he is compared to other hip-hop artists I’ve heard.

My two favorite tracks from Goonie J are a little strange: the first, “So Easy” is a one-verser that portrays his daily morning regimine (wait until you get about 0:49 seconds in) and advertises his mixtape he’s working on. While the topic is a little odd, the rhyme is sick! I actually love it because it’s just awesome to listen to.

The second song is sort of based on the Kanye West song “Popular” (which remixes the song “Popular” from the broadway show Wicked). I hate musical theater (specifically something like Wicked) so this song took me by suprised when I found my self once again diggin’ to Goonie J’s rhymes.

I feel like with a little more hard work, he can bust out of the underground Chicago scene and into our earbuds.

So enjoy “So Easy” and “Popular” by Goonie J

(you can download this song here)

Leave a Reply

